Showing posts with label bad movies. Show all posts
Showing posts with label bad movies. Show all posts

Sunday, December 30, 2018

Eimer's Worst Movie Experiences of 2018



Anyone getting nauseated by all the pungent Superhero movies and sci-fi crap out there? How about those retreads and remakes that try to put a new fresh coat of lipstick on the same big, old, fat hairy pig? Oh, and those formulaic comedies that continuously get greenlit in hopes that the brainless lemmings will go to the theaters and stream on TV just because it's there.

And I know you went. Don't lie. I know you did. Because I saw you there lapping up the cinematic Hollywood bile with your eyes. And, sadly, so did I. But, I blame my 11- and 12-year old son and daughter. So, what's your excuse?

Welp, this past year I've witnessed a ton of big turds. In fact, the crap was so prevalent that I eschewed movies almost the entire spring and summer and replaced with hikes, books, TV shows, and copious hours of Angry Birds 2. But, despite my personal opposition, I still managed to watch some stinky stink.

So, let's take a trip down memory lane - courtesy of my Twitter feed #1SentenceMovieReview - to revisit some of my not-so-favorite cinematic movie experiences of 2018. Mind you, a few of these movies were released in 2017. I just didn't get around to watching them until 2018. Can you really blame me?














Friday, December 29, 2017

Eimer's Worst Movie Experiences of 2017

This year, it seemed to me like there were a lot of dud movies in 2017, which is why I think I stayed away from a lot of the new releases.

Plus, with a 10-year old boy and almost 12-year old female tween in our household, we were able to watch a lot of movies from my past that needed to be seen by my kids including Time Bandits, Rain Man, Schindlers List,  Ferris Bueller, and of course, Problem Child 1 and the much-better sequel, and more and more and more.

So, for me, this year was steeped in nostalgia rather than the crap that sifts to the top of the sewer tank. In other words, Rottentomatoes, New Yorker and word of mouth helped me immensely in choosing my movies wisely.

In any event, is this list, like, the worst movies ever made? Probably not. They're just a handful of those so-so movies that I had high hopes for, and they ultimately disappointed or fell below par in the end.

C'est La Vie. Enjoy...
















What about you? What's the worst movie you saw this year?

Friday, December 30, 2016

Eimer's Worst Movies Experiences of 2016

Well, it's been an odd year of film-watching for me.

Like Ulysses getting mesmerized by the Sirens' enchanting song, I've been slowly lulled into the dreamy pit that known as streaming television. Thus, my movie watching has suffered immensely. I find that December, January and February are the times that I ramp up my film watching and knock out (almost) one film a day for two and a half months in the winter.

That said, surprisingly, I've come across a number of duds that I've viewed this past year. Some of these films have made the critics top 10 best list. Some of these films have made audiences swoon with delight. But, not me.

Enjoy this 'worst of' list with a grain of salt. I'm sure there are much more terrible movies out there. But, thanks to Rotten Tomatoes, I've been able to stray away from some of the super duds.


THE 5TH WAVE

MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN 

SUICIDE SQUAD 

THE WITCH 

A WALK IN THE WOODS 

BONE TOMAHAWK

THE SCORCH TRIALS

NORM OF THE NORTH

PAN

THE INTERN
What about you? What was your worst film of this year? Let me know and I won't watch it.

LOOKING FOR MORE SHITTY MOVIES?

Friday, January 2, 2015

Eimer's Worst Movie Experiences of 2014



So, early last year, I started a Twitter account called #1SentenceMovieReview.

I was hoping that it would be my meal ticket out of here. I was hoping that I could make my millions off the great press and advertising from all the hits I was going to receive. I was hoping I could retire - and live the rest of my life in Puerto Rico posting movie reviews from the comfort of my own beach house, which I would call Eimer Lagoon.

Well, as my 15 followers and hardly any Twitter shares can attest, the experiment isn't going exactly as planned. However, I might as well see this little experiment through for the next couple years. If anything, it's a nice writing challenge to try and be succinct, funny and provocative in 140 characters or less.

So, with links to my twitter account, I give you the 15 worst movies I watched in 2014. Keep in mind, these are not necessarily 2014 movies, but movies I viewed in 2014 that I hated (hence the word 'experiences').
















LOOKING FOR MORE SHITTY MOVIES?

Monday, January 6, 2014

Eimer's Worst Movie Experiences of 2013


Throughout any given year, I read a lot about upcoming movies. It's almost like I'm studying for a test that I will never take.

When it comes to film, I know the good, the bad and the ugly before the celluloid (are they even using celluloid anymore) hits the theaters. Which is why, nine times out of ten, I usually like the majority of movies that I view. And, thanks to movie blogs, Rotten Tomatoes and the like, I tend to stay away from most of the crud that comes out of Hollywood. Granted, once in a while, I may miss a gem hidden under the poop, but not often.

But, just like the sands through the hour glass, year after year some stinky turds always seem to get through the Eimer film funnel. Which brings us to this list, which definitely does not make up the worst movies released last year (I still haven’t seen Grown Ups 2, Smurfs 2 or The Lone Ranger, but I want too!). These are simply the worst movie experiences that I personally witnessed last year.

So, take them with a grain of salt. But, please avoid them nonetheless. And, if you happened to see them this past year, I feel sorry for you.

STOKER
Chan-wook Park's first 'English speaking' movie is cinematically dazzling ... yet narratively dull. If you're judging a film by cinematography and art direction, this film is phenomenal, tons of thought-provoking, innovative shots that made my jaw drop. Basically, that's what I stayed around for. As far as plot, this movie was very predictable and, sadly, not that interesting at all. It's a pity because I was really looking forward to seeing this film after hearing great things from critics. Perhaps, said critics where a bit blinded by Parks' previous outings including the Vengeance trilogy of OLDBOY, SYMPATHY FOR MR. VENGEANCE and SYMPATHY FOR LADY VENGEANCE, which are highly recommended by the way.

SIDE EFFECTS
When I saw Soderbergh was on board for this movie and I had read a tiny bit about the movie, I was expecting an engrossing, thought-provoking movie about anti-depressants and over medication of America, sort of like his other great works including TRAFFIC, CONTAGION and ERIN BROCKOVICH. However, this movie took a sad turn for the worse and veered into the absurd and disappointing; something stupid that reminded me of a far better movie (with a somewhat different plot) ... Richard Gere's PRIMAL FEAR (1996). Although this film was expertly shot, directed and acted, I was a bit disappointed and felt a little misled in the end. However, that's just me.

JOBS
There were a couple of big flaws with this film. First, Director Stern was forced to cram all of his big achievements (and failures) into 110 minutes. Second, the only preparation Ashton Kutcher did for the part was master Job’s odd walk, which mimics a weird pigeon-toed prance. Third, after reading the book last year, I’m convinced that a 2-3 hour film version probably isn’t the way to go to highlight this man's life. Perhaps a 10-part miniseries in 1-hour increments could work (i.e. Band of Brothers) on HBO? I think there would have been more opportunity to 'air' out his life story a bit more. Truth be told, this film didn't really move me too much, say as LINCOLN or BEHIND THE CANDLEABRA or [insert another cool docudrama here]. It was just meh. Maybe, after it's all said and done, it's simply too early to make a movie so soon after his death. Acting was adequate, but nothing noteworthy save Josh Gad as Woz, which just felt weird as well.

IRON MAN 3
Ugh. Not sure where to begin. The convoluted plot, which is a bit like T2: JUDGMENT DAY, but not as good. The ‘zany’ (i.e. stupid) twist in the middle. Or the fact that, basically, Iron Man is a robot in this movie. It's The Iron Giant. Tony Stark doesn’t even need to be in the uniform anymore, which is just stupid. Let me reiterate, Iron Man is not a real person anymore - it's a freaking robot. Speaking of Tony Stark, he’s turned into a mix between DIE HARD'S John McClane, Nightmare on Elm Street’s Freddy Krueger and Pierce Brosnan’s JAMES BOND, with his, bland rimshot one liners before he does something fantastic. Blech. If this is what the next generation of movies are turning into - superheor rehashes, remakes, CGI overload and leftover ideas – then the future of film is going to suck balls and I’m out. Even the Mandarin. The Freaking Mandarin as a craptastic villain? When it comes to digging up villains for Marvel superheros to fight, we've reached the bottom of the barrel people. C’mon Hollywood! C’mon Marvel! Superhero movies have officially jumped the shark. Meh, I guess we'll see how the new X-men film is.

EVIL DEAD
Great special effects and make-up, but dang if I haven't seen this movie again and again and again. They should have written an original horror story and let the chips fall where they may, because this retread stuff is getting old. How many times are we going to see TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE, HALLOWEEN, FRIDAY THE 13TH, NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET, and this movie over and over again before I die. Five more times? Six more times? This movie was already made, people! And it was freaking awesome. Which is why I can't give it more than two stars. At least the rehash of FRIGHT NIGHT tried to serve up some original material.

STAR TREK: INTRO DARKNESS
Look before you start to get nippy and say ‘What? This movie was awesome’. I’ll agree the special effects were great. And that English chap by the name of Cumberbatch? He was okay. I loved him as Smaug a bit more. But that’s about it. And this movie serves as the perfect example as to why I think Abrams is a flawed moviemaker. He yearns for those Speilberg moments and tender touches, but he just doesn’t know how to create them or write them or pull them from his actors (ahem, Super 8, anyone?). Instead he hides the lack of a storyteller’s soul with whiz-bang special effects. Quick! Tell me the plot of the first Star Trek? How about Mission Impossible 3? I can't remember. That’s why all of his movies are ‘just okay’. They’re forgettable. Sure, they’re great when you’re in the theater, but you don’t think about them at all after you leave, which is a bummer. Like I stated in my intro paragraph above, there were a lot of worse movies out there. But to make an ‘important’ film like this that’s forgettable after one viewing is a major crime in my book. Which is why I’m treading lightly in my anticipation for the new Star Wars movies. Where is Spielberg when you need him? Oh yeah, he’s out making kick-ass meaningful movies.

SEVEN PSYCHOPATHS
Oh my god, this film was a mess. You have a great cast, with a somewhat okay idea, but it gets lost in the 109 minutes from start to finish. I'm not getting the whole seven psychopaths idea either. Just a terrible, slow, boring movie. And you would expect much more from that title, right? Wrong. Very disappointed because I heard rave reviews and was pretty excited to watch this. Almost two hours of my life I'll never get back.

MAMA
Sorry Guillermo and Director Muschietti, this was a paint-by-numbers ghost flick. It's a pity too, especially after watching the behind the scenes MAMA sfx work as well as the short film that inspired the movie. And what's with the end? I'm all for a big Shamalayan ending, but the twist these guys put into the end totally takes away from the entire plot. Wait a minute, was there a plot. I'm not so sure. Great idea, but it just falls flat in the end. I was expecting so much more after viewing the trailers, and seeing the actors involved and the producers who ponied up their money and expertise.

TO THE WONDER
Like all of Malick's films. the cinematography is top notch. There are many breathtaking scenes that make me wish I saw this in the theater. But that's about it. This film almost seems like an extension of TREE OF LIFE, but much more ambiguous and - dare I say - boring. Look, I get what Malick is trying to do. But I'm not a fan of this new turn he's taking with odd silent voiceovers. True, you do not need dialogue for everything, but you do need some dialogue to tell a freaking story. Just a little bit more than you offered up Mr. Malick. And stop with the whispering. I'm sorry that I didn't really like this movie. I was extremely excited to see it after reading about Roger Ebert's final posthumous review about this movie in which he gave it very high marks. Let's hope Malick returns to his 'older' form in his next couple movies. But, I’m not holding my breath. Fool me once with TREE OF LIFE, shame on you. Fool me twice with TO THE WONDER, shame on me.

PARANORMAL ACTIVITY 4
I'm officially done with this series. Just a crappy movie from start to finish. And they went back to the satanic/cult territory! Even though the third mish-mash cult attempt was terrible. Don't waste your time on this crap. Loved the first. Managed the second. Hated the last two installments. I will never watch another one of these PA movies again. I hate myself for getting sucked into this dreck. I hear the new one is supposed to be pretty good, but I'll never know, because I'm not going to fucking watch it.

HOUSE AT THE END OF THE STREET
I thought this movie was simply terrible. Acting. Direction. Overall plot. And screenplay. What an utter disappointment and waste of time. Look, there's a tiny twist of an ending at the end. But by that time, you're so angry that you ponied up the cash for this movie that you don't even care. It's nice to see Elisabeth Shue working again, but it's not worth the rental. I just can't believe movies like this are getting green-lit by Hollywood. Terrible. Terrible. Terrible. Dumb.

THE LONLIEST PLANET
If you're judging a movie purely based on cinematography, then hands down this is a great film. Everything else like acting and a script? Not so much. Slow, plodding storyline about a happy couple who transform into an unhappy couple based on an act of...what?...cowardice? Mmmm...I'm not so sure. The two hikers played by Hani and Gael act like two seven-year old kids throughout the film. Their love for one another is somewhat annoying. But when they get into a 'disagreement' or 'fight' over said incident, it's just downright dreadful to watch. It's almost like Director Julia Loktev is trying to put on her Terrence Malick hat, with terrible results. Again, loved the cinematography as well as ambient sound, but I could not in my right mind recommend this movie to anyone - except cinematography and photography lovers.


LOOKING FOR MORE SHITTY MOVIES?

Wednesday, January 2, 2013

Eimer's Worst Movies Viewed in 2012

I have many mottos that I live by. And, when it comes to film, my motto is: "Life is too short to watch shitty movies."

As a general rule, I try to stay away from bad movies. I follow RottenTomatoes.com, read critical reviews, visit movie geek websites and, sometimes, go by my gut. Could I possibly be missing a diamond in the rough, sure? But who cares?

Yet, even after all the checks and balances, the stinky shit of bad film still seems to seep into my eyes. That said, here are my Top Televen worst viewings of 2012 (including DVD, Cable and the Theater)...

THE HANGOVER PART 2 (2011)
I saw this movie on New Year’s Day 2012, last year, so I guess it counts as 2012, right? Wow, was this movie sucked. It seemed like Todd Phillips pulled all the actors in a room and said "Look guys, we're going to do it all over again. I wrote this script last night, so let's go out and make a boatload of money - but this time we'll do it in Thailand. Now who's with me!??" Replace Las Vegas with Bangkok. Replace the missing tooth with a face tattoo. Replace the baby with a monkey. Replace the tiger with Mr. Chow. Replace a female hooker with a male hooker. Add a touch of Mike Tyson...and, voila, you've got yourself a crappy sequel. Just a terrible movie all around. I felt I was robbed. Oh yeah, and they also do another photo montage at the end credits, which is - probably - the best part of the whole film. Matter of fact, save us viewers the time of sitting through another sequel and do a photo montage of another Hangover movie. Blech.

KILL LIST (2011)
This is a movie that starts off okay, gets a little better (and bloodier) then ends with you scratching your head. I thought about it all through the night. It's bit of a creepy movie, but you have to get through the original 30 minutes of the main couple screaming and yelling at each other. It's reminds me of a modern day WICKER MAN. It's almost ambiguous to the point that the 'amibiguousness' is, well, annoying. I'm all for ambiguity, but this movie falls in the 'too much' category. Very creepy chase scenes at the end. Which begs the questions, are these people human, demons or from another demension? Like I said, if you watch it, you'll understand what I'm talking about. You may not understand the movie though. Not sure I can 100% recommend this, though. I know I wouldn't watch it again.

EXTRATERRESTRIAL (2012)
Meh, very underwhelming follow-up to fantastic time-travel movie TIMECRIMES from Nacho Vigalondo. Truth be told, I was expecting much, much more than what I viewed on screen. Yes, I agree he was probably working on a limited budget. But, the overall story just didn't do it for me. You have a four-mile long spaceship arriving over your city and nobody freaks out? These people just sit around and talk, fuck and basically do nothing for the whole movie. Very disappointing. Being from the United States, maybe there was a cultural road block that I missed because, after reading all of the rave reviews, maybe I missed something? However, I can't recommend this to my friends, Netlix viewers or anyone in general.

PARANORMAL ACTIVITY 3 (2011)
Really? People giving this movie three or four stars? Total bullshit. I can see the two directors (yes two directors) and writing team sitting in an office and hashing out this idea. "Dude, I got it," one of the writer's exclaims. "Well combine ghosts with the occult." The whole room jumps to their feet,  high-fives all around. "Awesome," they say in their best Bill and Ted impression. I think, just like the SAW series, this idea has run its course. Unless, of course, you just make a straight commercial film. None of this putting-up-video-camera bullshit. Plus, when you start mixing genres, it's a bad sign that you've run out of ideas and are trying to mix stuff up in a blender and see what color it turns. Okay, the one cool part was 'the ghost with the sheet and the fan camera' shot. But, that's it. Not worth the rental or the 81 minutes. Re-rent the original PARANORMAL ACTIVITY and bask in its greatness. This one is a flat turd.

THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN (2012)
Man, I was so bored. Maybe I'm suffering from Super-hero fatigue maybe it's the fact that this franchise just ended a couple years ago (save the third one) from Sam Raimi. Maybe it was the fact that I know that Sony shit this movie out really fast in order to retain the rights to the character. All in all, very disappointing. I kept thinking over and over “Didn’t I already see this movie?” Sure, the special effects were fine. I also think Andrew Garfield fits the geeky, lanky Spider-Man from the comic books to a tee. But, this movie just felt very flat to me. Direction, acting, special effects, everything simply had this gloss of an important movie, but it didn't really sparkle for me. That said, my kids enjoyed it. They're 5 and 6, which should tell you something about the overall 'content'. Don't expect to be 'wowed'.

HOP (2011)
Animation was top notch, but they should have kept the whole movie animated. As soon as I saw the live action, I groaned. It just fell flat for me. Look, I get the whole idea...a kid doesn't want to follow in his father's footsteps so he runs away from home and learns a valuable lesson in the process. Although the Easter Bunny idea was a bit new, the whole script was formulaic and followed the same techniques and standards guaranteed to make your kids squeal with delight. But don't be fooled. This is a turd in sheep's clothing. You've been warned. Acting sucks too.

A LONELY PLACE TO DIE (2011)
After reading mostly positive feedback in a wide array of geek circles on the web, I was really looking forward to seeing this movie. However, I would just give this movie three stars for predictability. It's DELIVERANCE mixed with DESCENT (minus the creatures) mixed with RANSOM. Right from the beginning, I was taken in by the fantastic cinematography and exciting action sequences. The lead up to finding the Serbian girl was also very interesting. The directors and writers kept you on your toes for a little bit (I said 'a little bit'), but then - about 1/3 through - the entire movie fell flat for me. The ending was a bit forced and a little unpredictable (only two police in a town celebrating a huge festival?). I don't know, maybe I was expecting more after reading all of the positive reviews. That said, I will be keeping my eye on Julian Gelby's future work as well as the cinematographer Ali Asad.

THE CHILDREN (2008)
Dumb. Stupid. Idiotic. If your idea of fun is watching a movie with kids screaming, adults screaming, teenagers screaming in a somewhat of a VILLAGE OF THE DAMNED remake with snow, then by all means check this movie out. The screams were so annoying I had to fast forward through the entire film. Don't worry, you don't need the dialogue to even understand what's going on...nor will you care.

JOHN CARTER (2012)
Very forgettable film, which is a pity. Yes, it's choppy. Yes, the acting is a bit cardboard. Yes, there are many different plot points. And yes, this is a little bit of a dud from Director Andrew Stanton - in his first live-action film (FINDING NEMO, WALL-E). However, you have to give props to the grand ideas and majestic creativity of the film. Also have to give a thumbs-up to the impressive CGI work as well (from Lucasfilm no less). That said, this movie felt like a mix between FLASH GORDON campiness and STAR WARS seriousness, but just couldn't find its own voice in the end. I read THE PRINCESS OF MARS (the first book in the John Carter trilogy) so, going in, I understood what was going on. However, if you're new to the character and the series, I could understand people being totally lost. Too much to consume in a two-hour time period. It's a die hard fanboy (Stanton) creating a movie for the other 40-something fanboys out there without thinking about the other audience members in the theater. That said, the ending sets up a sequel (a planned trilogy from Stanton), which I'm pretty sure isn't going to happen due to the weak box-office results. Let's hope FINDING NEMO 2 (Stanton's next outing) is a bit better than this.

CHRONICLE (2012)
Basically, it's the movie and graphic novel AKIRA in wolf's clothing. Look, great special effects and all that jazz. Acting was fine. Not great. All in all, I'm just getting tired of these 'found-footage' films. I'm sorry, but after watching PARANORMAL ACTIVITY 2 and 3, PROJECT X, CLOVERFIELD and THE LAST EXORCISM, my suspension of disbelief for these movies is running a bit thin. I'm just not believing these people are going to carry around a video camera all the time recording everything that goes on. It made 100% sense in THE BLAIR WITCH PROJECT and the first PARANORMAL ACTIVITY, but these other films? Not so much. Which begs the point, why make CHRONICLE a 'found-footage' film in the first place. Throughout the movie they use different 'video' footage to tell the story. Not simply from the three main characters cameras. So, how about this, why not do it at all? I think this movie could have rolled in the four-star territory had they not filmed it this way. Sigh. 

SHARK NIGHT (2011)
Holy shit, this fucking sucked ass. Look, I'm a fan of below-average horror, underwater fare like LAKE PLACID, PIRAHNA 3D, DEEP BLUE SEA and ANACONDA. But this movie was just a terrible waste of time - not only for me, but for society as a whole. Shame on the producers that gave this movie a green light. Makes no sense whatsoever. Three rednecks with the engineering chops to not only capture all kinds of different species of sharks (must have an unlimited budget), but the capabilities to toss a video camera on each one of said sharks (Bulls, Hammerheads, etc.) - and all because they want to get revenge on some college girl. Also, how did they manage to capture a Great White Shark and keep it alive (in a rusted cage) when even the top marine biologists in the world cannot achieve this feat? C'mon! I could make up something better than this piece of crap. Terrible movie all around. Don't waste your money - or more importantly your 91 minutes - on this rancid piece of chum. Next!

THE INNKEEPERS (2011)
Meh. I guess I was expecting too much from this horror flick from Ti West (THE HOUSE OF THE DEVIL)...like a plot. Hey, I'm all for ambiguous endings, but an ambiguous film? Very lame. Acting was okay. But the entire plot wasn't flushed out at all. What's up with the ghost? How about the old man, why did he return? Plus you have Kelly McGillis and you do absolutely nothing with her. And what about the owner (he's on vacation during the last weekend in business?) So much potential out of this movie, but this is a terrible, terrible flat turd in the end. So disappointing. Do not watch. For a creepy movie about a haunted house, rent THE ORPHANAGE instead. Much better than this dumb flick.

THE DEAD (2010)
Look, I was raised on Romero. I basked in the greatness of Evil Dead. I like a great zombie film as much as the next guy. However, I did not like this movie at all. Slow, boring, dull. And this is supposed to be a zombie movie? I'm all for low-budget films and try to support up-and-coming filmmakers as much as possible, but man, this movie sucked. After growing up on zombie films and watching the above par series THE WALKING DEAD, as a zombie film fan, I'm expecting something more, something different and something exciting from this new generation of filmmakers. Be creative! That's about it.

Well, there you have it. What about you? What were some of the worst movies you saw in 2012?

Best Movies...tomorrow, Best Books...the following day. 

LOOKING FOR MORE SHITTY MOVIES?